Surya Namaskar: For A Healthy Body, Mind And Soul


The Sun is the ultimate energy source and the Yoga routine of ‘Surya Namaskar’ or Sun salutation seeks to energize your mind and body by deriving energy directly from the Sun. It consists of two cycles of 12 ‘asanas’ each and can be performed in the comfort of your while consuming the least amount of time.It has gained a lot of popularity in the West as well owing to its countless health benefits.


The benefits of Surya Namaskar include weight loss, improved blood circulation, improved skin and hair health. It is also excellent for the vital organs like heart, liver and lungs. It strengthens the core, improves flexibility and builds stamina. It calms the mind and releases stress and anxiety.


Here is the sequence of 12 steps or asanas that are very easy to follow.  All you need is a yoga mat and some determination to get started:

1 . Pranamasana (Prayer Pose)

Stand straight up with your body’s weight balanced equally on both feet and hands on the sides. Extend the spine and relax the shoulders. With a deep breath, bring your palms together in front of your chest in a ‘Namaskar’ pose.

2 . Hastauttanasana (Raised arms Pose)

Inhale and stretch your body upwards by extending your arms towards the ceiling, while your feet are planted. A slight curve should form at your hip.

3 . Hasta Padasana (Hand to Foot Pose)

Exhale and bend in front from your waist. Touch the ground with your palms on the outside of your feet. Try to keep the legs and the spine straight.

4 . Ashwa Sanchalasana (Equestrian Pose)

Inhale and push the right leg behind to as far as you can. Slowly bend the leg and let the knee touch the ground. Your palms and left foot should be planted firmly on the ground. Look up and stretch the spine.

5 . Dandasana (Stick Pose)

Inhale and extend your left leg back for the left foot to rest parallel to the right. Both knees should be off the ground and the palms should stay under the chest with the hands stretched out. This pose resembles a push-up.

6 . Ashta Namaskar (Salute with Eight Parts)

Relax and bring your knees, the chest and the chin to the ground. Extend your back towards the ceiling so that there is a curve at the hips and the abdomen does not touch ground. The knees, feet, palms, chest and the chin should stay aground.

7 . Bhujangasana (Cobra pose)

Exhale and lie on your stomach with the body straight. The palms should be underneath the chest. Slowly raise your body, from the navel upwards towards the ceiling extending both hands. Use your core for this stretch, the hands would only support.

8 . Parvatasana (Mountain pose)

From lying down on the stomach, inhale and start to raise your hips towards the ceiling till your feet and palms are the only parts touching ground and the legs and hands are fully extended and straight.

9 . Ashwa Sanchalasana (Equestrian pose)

Inhale, lower the hip and let the left knee touch the ground. Bring the right foot underneath your face, in between your palms. Stretch the spine.

10 . Hasta Padasana (Hand to Foot pose)

Exhale and bring the left foot forward, place it beside the right foot in between the palms. Straighten the legs and the spine.

11 . Hastauttanasana (Raised arms pose)

Slowly inhale and release the bend. Rise up straight and extend your hands towards the ceiling. Stretch the entire body as if you are trying to touch the ceiling, the feet however, should be firmly planted.

12 . Tadasana 

Exhale and let your hands hang on both sides. Extend the spine, push the chest out and pull the stomach in. Roll the shoulders downwards, the feet should point straight ahead with two feet’s distance in between.

-Hold each pose for 15 seconds at the beginning, go on increasing from there on.

-This is one cycle, complete the sequence by performing the round of all exercises with alternate legs at steps 4 and 9.

People are also Reading:

7 Health Benefits Of Zumba Workout

5 Yoga Postures That Help You Lose Weight Fast

Avoid this yoga if you are pregnant or menstruating,if  you have cardiovascular conditions like high blood pressure or if you have chronic back pain.So, go ahead, try the Surya Namaskar today and say hello to a new you.Stay Healthy, Stay Happy!

Facebook Comments

Related Articles